Library Hours and Admission

 

Library Hours

Monday: Closed
Tuesday: 12:30 - 5:30 p.m.
Wednesday: 12:30 - 8:30 p.m.
Thursday: 12:30 - 5:30 p.m.
Friday: 10 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.

Please note that entry to the library, photocopy service, and paging all end 45 minutes prior to closing time.

Notice of weather or emergency closings will be posted on the Historical Society's website and on the Society's weather phone line at 215-732-6200 ext. 505.

The library is closed regularly on Saturdays, Sundays, Mondays, and the holidays listed below:

Christmas (2014) Monday, December 22 - Friday, December 26, 2014
New Year's Eve Holiday (2014) Closing early Wednesday, December 31, 2014, at 5:30 p.m.
New Year's Day (2015) Thursday, January 1 - Friday, January 2, 2015
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Monday, January 19, 2015
Presidents' Day Monday, February 16, 2015
Memorial Day Monday, May 25, 2015
Independence Day Friday, July 3, 2015
Labor Day Monday, September 7, 2015
Columbus Day Monday, October 12, 2015
Thanksgiving Closing early Wednesday, November 25 at 5:30 p.m. - Friday, November 27, 2015
Christmas (2015) Thursday, December 24 - Friday, December 25, 2015
New Year's Day (2016) Friday, January 1, 2016

 

Library Admission

Individual Daily Rates

Members: Free

Non-member adults: $8

Students (with current student ID card): FREE

Students grades 6-12 (with current student ID card): FREE

Photocopy services are available to both on- and off-site researchers and are subject to a $0.50 per page fee. The use of film or digital still-image cameras is permitted in the library at no additional cost. The use of cameras is subject to the following conditions: Copy and Camera Policies for details.

 

Research Registration Form

All first-time visitors to the library must complete a research registration form. You may print and complete the form prior to your visit, or you may complete it at the front desk before entering the library. Click here for a PDF version of the research registration form.

 

Accessibility

 

The Historical Society of Pennsylvania has a wheelchair accessible entrance on the 13th Street side of the building, just south of Locust Street. Staff are available to assist patrons who enter and exit the building through this entrance; please ring the buzzer for immediate assistance. 

Our goal is to provide exceptional service to our patrons, please let us know of any special needs in advance of your visit to HSP, so that we may ensure you have a pleasant experience.  Contact Visitor Services at ext. 221 or via email at adean@hsp.org with any questions or requests.