Archival Adventures in Small Repositories
Strawberry Mansion is a historic house museum in Fairmount Park, Philadelphia. Once known as "Summerville," the house was built in 1789 and expanded with additions in the 1820s. It was sold to the Fairmount Park Commission in 1867, but it was not until 1926 that a unified committee of interested women, The Committee of 1926, formed to act as the stewards of the house and restore it to its former glory. The Committee of 1926 continues to administer Strawberry Mansion, which stands as the largest of the Fairmount Park historic houses.
Strawberry Mansion is the repository for records of the Committee of 1926 and the Pennsylvania Society of New England Women. It also holds collections of the Women's Committee of the Philadelphia Sesqui-Centennial International Exposition of 1926 and of eighteenth century Pennsylvania Surveyor-General John Lukens. The archival holdings total over 35 linear feet of materials dating from 1763.